Posts Tagged ‘Pulau Misool’

raja-ampatThe local people believe that the Raja Ampat region was formerly ruled by four kings who hatched from four eggs. They shared the area and lived together in peace by establishing four territorial alliances, or traditional kingdoms.

These four territories ruled by the kings are now known as Pulau Waigeo, Pulau Misool, Pulau Batanta, and Pulau Salawati. Together with around 600 smaller islands, these four major islands now comprise Raja Ampat Regency.

Administratively, Raja Ampat lies within the province of West Papua; geographically, it extends north and Read the rest of this entry »